Tarot Cards - Major Arcana
The Major Arcana (major secrets) cards represent the soul’s deepest longings, joys, desires, and needs. They point at the soul’s karmic purpose, past lives, and future endeavors.

There are twenty-two Major Arcana cards, just like the twenty-two letters of the Hebrew alphabet. Occultists have associated each card with a Hebrew letter and study their Kabbalistic interpretations to understand each card better. The connection to the Hebrew alphabet is perhaps the clearest in the Wheel of Fortune, card number 10, where the four Hebrew letters form the word “God.”

Interestingly, the Major Arcana cards are numbered 0 through 21. Number 0 is the Fool, symbolizing the purest state of the soul - like a baby. The progression of Major Arcana is said to symbolize the soul’s evolution, as experienced on Earth, from an empty tabula rasa to a wise, knowing soul. We see the same symbols shapeshift as we go from The Magician to the Wheel of Fortune to The World - can you point out the 4 elemental symbols in each card?

Each Major Arcana card offers a rich understanding of where we are in life, and can be meditated upon to find inner alignment.

Below is a list of the 22 Major Arcana cards in the Tarot deck, click each card to gain deeper insight into their meanings.